VIC/NSW Border update

Victorian Lockdown Applied 

The Victorian Government has implemented a circuit breaker to stop the spread of COVID-19 and therefore, Victoria will go into lockdown from 11.59pm on Friday 12 February to 11.59pm on Wednesday 17 February 2021.   

People will be required to stay at home, unless for the following four reasons:  

  • shopping for essential items; 
  • medical and other care and caregiving; 
  • exercise; and, 
  • essential work. 

Essential work and services for primary industries 

Essential work covers the following: 

  • Primary industries only to the extent necessary to ensure adequate supply of food to, and care of, animals and maintenance of crops. 
  • Production & distribution of food and groceries for sale by a supermarket, butcher, fruit and vegetable store, market or fishmonger (including for sale by operators of such premises at an indoor or outdoor market). 
  • Forestry. 
  • A transport, freight or logistics driver. 
  • Essential providers include veterinary clinics and pet stores and any urgent services necessary for the health and safety of any animal or premises. 

Crossing the border for essential work and services 

NSW has not closed its border to Victoria.  

If you are from NSW and need to cross the border for primary production purposes, you can do so. If you are a border communities resident travelling for essential work purposes, please see the information below relating to border community residents and follow this advice. 

Non-border community residents travelling into Victoria will be required to complete a traveller self-declaration form if travelling by road, rail or air and will be required to follow stay-at-home requirements on your return.   

NSW-Victoria border communities 

For NSW residents living along the Victorian border, the 5-day stay-at-home requirement will only apply to people who have visited Greater Melbourne after 11:59pm on Friday 12 February 2021. 

It will not apply to NSW border residents who travel into regional Victoria.

The map that defines the border community is the same that was used for the larger border ‘bubble’ arrangements at the end of the NSW-Victorian border closure in 2020. 

NSW border residents will not be required to complete a traveller-self declaration when moving between NSW and regional Victoria. 


Arriving in NSW from Victoria (affected area) 

The state of Victoria has been declared an affected area and an area of concern from 12:01am on Saturday 13 February 2021. 

The NSW border remains open with the introduction of restricted entry requirements for return travellers from Victoria into NSW.